Welcome to Naisa!

NAISA is a formal alliance of associations that represent independent schools in South Africa. NAISA members are national associations of independent schools. A national association is an association which has member schools in more than one province.


Looking to call us? 031 207 1116

NAISA is a formal alliance of independent schools associations that represent +- 1488 independent schools in South Africa. NAISA members are national associations that represent specific faith-based or philosophy-based independent schools. A national association is an association which has member schools in more than one province.

The alliance serves the interests of independent schools and facilitates communications with the Department of Education and other bodies on matters of common interest and concern.

The NAISA committee is comprised of mandated representatives of its member associations.

The Alliance is based on the principles of inclusivity and consensus, while at the same time respecting the individual identity of each association and allowing for disassociation. In view of the rapidly changing nature of the independent school sector, the Constitution also allows for flexibility in membership and procedures and enables the full diversity of the sector to be reflected.

Rights and Responsibilities of Independent Schools

Who Are We?

The National Alliance of Independent Schools Associations is an umbrella body which represents the interests of associations of independent schools in South Africa.

The key objects of the Alliance are to :

  • consider and develop joint positions on national issues of concern to its Members and the Independent Schools sector generally, throughout South Africa;
  • represent the collective interests of its Members throughout South Africa;
  • advocate, liaise, consult and/or negotiate on issues of concern and/or interest to its Members with the national and provincial education authorities and other relevant  statutory bodies, institutions of higher education and relevant stakeholders in pre-primary, primary, secondary and/or pre-tertiary education;
  • promote the independent Schooling sector generally throughout South Africa;
  • contribute as far as may be practicable, to the provision of quality education for all in South Africa.

Chairperson: William Bester
Deputy Chairperson: Mandla Mthembu
Treasurer: Rabbi Ricky Seeff
Members: Anne Baker: Natalie Gross
Secretary General – Ebrahim Ansur

NAISA is recognised as a primary stakeholder representing the independent school sector in South Africa.  NAISA also has a memorandum of understanding with UMALUSI, the council for Quality Assurance and Accreditation of Independent Schools

NAISA has a communication protocol agreement and recognition as the representative of Independent Schools in South Africa by the following Statutory bodies and Structures:

  • The Department of Basic Education (DBE) which has the following Structures where NAISA is represented:
    • HEDCOM Sub-committee – Teacher Development and Curriculum Management (TDCM)
    • HEDCOM Sub-committee –  National Examination and Assessment Committee (NEAC)
    • HEDCOM Sub-committee – Education Management Information System Committee (EMIS)
    • HEDCOM Sub-committee on Independent Schools
  • NAISA also has representation in the following bodies and structures:
    • ETDPSETA BOARD (Accounting Authority)
    • ETDPSETA Quality Assurance Committee of the Board
    • ETDPSETA Human Resource Committee
    • ETDPSETA Schooling Chamber
  • NAISA is also represented on South African Council of Educators Council (SACE Council)
  • NAISA has a communications protocol agreement with Umalusi Council of Quality Assurance of General and Further Education and Training.


Associations of registered  independent schools may apply to join NAISA provided they have schools in more than one province in South Africa.

Enquiries may be directed to the Secretary General, Mr Ebrahim Ansur – email secretary@naisa.co.za

Provincial Joint Liaison Committees

The NAISA representatives for the Joint Liaison Committees are listed below. Kindly direct all correspondence to the Secretary General, NAISA: secretary@naisa.co.za 

  • Gauteng: Kgethi Dlamini
  • Limpopo: Bertie de Lange
  • Mpumalanga: Jacques Jacobs
  • Kwa Zulu Natal: Philip Theron
  • Eastern Cape: Mariette Visser
  • Western Cape: Sadiya Mohammed
  • Free State: Doreen Cloete
  • North West: Rev Petrus Letlojane

National Associations

Contact Us

12 + 6 =

32 West Riding Row, Sherwood,
Durban, 4092.

P O Box: 74132, Rochdale Park,

Contact: 031 207 1116 / 0820828265
Email: secretary@naisa.co.za